Peptide testing labs compared
Five names come up whenever peptide testing is discussed: Janoshik, Finnrick, Vanguard Laboratory, Freedom Diagnostics, and Peptide Test. They do different jobs, and "which is best" has a different answer depending on whether you are a buyer checking a claim, a buyer testing a vial, or a vendor building trust. Facts below come from each company's own site, checked 2026-08-28.
The comparison
| Janoshik | Finnrick | Vanguard | Freedom Diagnostics | Peptide Test | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Analysis lab | Testing + vendor rankings platform | Accredited analysis lab | Analysis lab | Testing service (partner lab) |
| Location | Prague, Czech Republic | United States | Olympia, Washington | Franklin, Tennessee | Michigan |
| Accreditation claimed | None stated | Not a lab itself | ISO/IEC 17025:2017 | None stated | USP/NF-validated methods |
| Price signal | $215 (BPC-157) to $630 (blends); $360 GLP-1 blind test | Free sample program; membership-funded | $250 purity + $250 quantity; $150 sterility | Not published | Not published |
| Turnaround claimed | Not stated | Not stated | 5 to 8 days | 2 to 4 days | Not stated |
| Public verification | Task number + unique key checkable at the lab; public archive | Public leaderboards, 9,991 tests | COA issued; no public database stated | 42,000+ COAs searchable by accession number | No public database stated |
| Best for | Checking a vendor's claim; worldwide samples | Choosing between vendors | Accredited paperwork; US shipping | Vendors needing fast public COAs | US buyers testing a vial |
Sources: janoshik.com, finnrick.com, vanguardlaboratory.com, freedomdiagnosticstesting.com, peptidetest.com, all retrieved 2026-08-28. "None stated" means the company's own site makes no claim, nothing more.
What each one actually does
A chemical analysis lab in Prague that tests peptides, anabolics, SARMs, and related compounds from anywhere in the world, with card and crypto payment. Its two defining features are breadth (compounds most accredited labs will not touch) and the verification layer: every report carries a task number and unique key anyone can check against the lab's database, plus a public archive of client-published results. That checkability is why Janoshik reports became the market's default proof of quality.
Not a mail-order COA lab: Finnrick collects customer-submitted vials (9,991 tests at last count), runs a free sample-testing program, and publishes the results as vendor safety rankings, funded by memberships. Its leaderboards score vendors on purity above 99.5% and dose accuracy within 35%. Its retatrutide board alone covers 3,691 tests across 256 vendors. Use it to compare vendors before buying; use Janoshik's verify page to check a specific report a vendor hands you.
An ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accredited analytical lab in Olympia, Washington running LC-MS/MS, GC-MS, and ICP-MS, with published prices ($250 HPLC purity, $250 quantity, $150 USP sterility) and a 5-to-8-day turnaround. It also tests supplements, food, and water. The accreditation is its edge: legally defensible paperwork from a US lab. It does not run a public key-verification database, so its COAs travel on the lab's letterhead rather than a checkable code.
A Franklin, Tennessee lab established in 2023, built for vendor volume: 2-to-4-day claimed turnaround, every COA pairing HPLC purity with LC-MS identity confirmation, and 42,000+ public COAs searchable by accession number or company name. Like Janoshik it makes results publicly checkable, which matters more than any speed claim: a Freedom COA can be looked up independently rather than taken on faith.
A Michigan testing service whose analyses run at a partner lab staffed by pharmaceutical QC scientists, using USP/NF-validated HPLC and UV methods. It markets to individual researchers as much as vendors, which makes it a practical option for a US buyer testing a vial they already received without shipping a sample overseas. No public results database is stated, so reports are private to the client.
The two comparisons people ask about
Janoshik vs Finnrick. Different jobs, so "vs" is the wrong frame. Janoshik answers "is this specific report real and does it match my product?" Finnrick answers "which vendor should I buy from in the first place?" A careful buyer uses both: pick candidates from Finnrick's rankings, then verify the actual batch report through Janoshik's page before paying. They disagree only when a vendor ranks well on one and shows nothing on the other, and that gap itself is information.
Janoshik vs Vanguard. This one is a real tradeoff. Vanguard holds ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accreditation and Janoshik's site claims none, so if you need paperwork that stands up outside the peptide community, Vanguard wins. Janoshik wins on the things gray-market buyers actually use: public key verification, the published archive, compound breadth, crypto payment, and worldwide sample acceptance. An accredited COA nobody can independently look up and an unaccredited report anyone can verify in thirty seconds are different kinds of trust. Decide which kind you need.
Testing lab FAQ
Which peptide testing lab is best?+
Depends on the job. Verifying a report a vendor showed you: Janoshik's own verification page, free. Choosing a vendor: Finnrick's rankings plus our COA ledger. Testing a vial you received in the US: Vanguard, Freedom Diagnostics, or Peptide Test, without customs risk. Accredited documentation: Vanguard. Vendor publishing public COAs: Janoshik or Freedom Diagnostics, because both make results independently checkable.
Is Janoshik ISO 17025 accredited?+
Janoshik's site claims no ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation, and the point comes up in community discussions. Of the companies here, Vanguard Laboratory is the one claiming ISO/IEC 17025:2017. Accreditation and checkability are separate axes: Janoshik's reports are unaccredited but publicly verifiable; an accredited COA with no public database must be trusted on letterhead.
Can you test peptides at home?+
Not meaningfully. Purity and quantity need HPLC and mass spectrometry, which are lab instruments; nothing you can do in a kitchen confirms either. The realistic "at home" option is mail-in testing: send a vial to one of the labs above and read the report. Anything sold as an instant home purity test for peptides is overpromising.
How much does peptide testing cost?+
With published prices: Janoshik runs $215 (BPC-157) to $630 (CagriSema blend), with the popular GLP-1 blind test at $360; Vanguard charges $250 for HPLC purity, $250 for quantity, and $150 for USP sterility. Freedom Diagnostics and Peptide Test quote on request. Testing is cheap relative to a production batch, which is why "we can't afford testing" from a vendor is a red flag.
Whichever lab a vendor names, the claim is only worth what you can check. The verification procedure, step by step.
OpenSources
janoshik.com // finnrick.com // vanguardlaboratory.com // freedomdiagnosticstesting.com // peptidetest.com
Published 2026-08-28. MechPeptides has no affiliation with any company on this page. Educational content; research compounds are not for human consumption.